Michigan’s “Super Drunk” Law

As of October 2010, Michigan drivers are subject to a new law that boosts penalties for those convicted of operating a vehicle under the influence, or considered to be “Super Drunk.” Drivers who are convicted with a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of 0.17 or face stiffer penalties, including a one-year breath alcohol ignition interlock requirement, increased fines, and possibly longer jail time.
The “Super Drunk” Law and its enhanced penalties apply only to first-time high-BAC offenders. Repeat offender laws’ remained unchanged because of the consequences and punishment which are still greater than those established for the super drunk.

If caught and convicted under the Super Drunk driving offense, persons may face a maximum jail sentence of 180 days, a potential for larger court fines, and complete a one-year alcohol rehabilitation requirement, including an ignition interlock device installed in one’s vehicle.

The ignition interlock device (IID) requires the convicted driver to blow a 0.025 BAC or lower in order for the vehicle to ignite. If the blood alcohol content is higher, the vehicle will not start. In addition, the installation and usage fees for the IID can amount to $1000.

What is your take on the “Super Drunk” Law?

Comments are closed.